LondonSkaters Speed Team - Speed Skating & Rollerblading Club in London

LondonSkaters Speed Team
Sponsor - One Body Clinic


Thursday, 20-Oct-2016
The LondonSkaters Speed Team Annual General Meeting was held yesterday, and was well attended by a broad range of members, old and new.

The club would like to recognise the efforts and support of our committee, team of coaches, supporters and volunteers, and of course, our members.

We are also pleased to announce the following annual awards:

1. Skater of the Year: Maya Bathgate
“no one else comes close for British championships, British records and international results at major euro cup events”
“17 British records and never been beaten at FISS track event”
(other nominees - Rio Carasco, Frederic Houinato)

2. Best Race Performance: Rio Carasco for his performances at the British Marathon Championships and the London Inline Marathon
“He won convincingly”
“I raced with him at LIM, and he put in a number of attacks throughout the race, and finished strongly to win”
(other nominees - Maya Bathgate, Richard Holgate, Migue Varona)

3. Most Improved Skater: Alex King
“He's gone from a guy on skates to an actual skater - in technique, speed, and etiquette.”
“He went from he couldn't keep up to really hard to keep up with him within the year and also from group 3 to group 1 in many of the races.”
(other nominees - Sky Carasco, Neil Roxburgh Clark, Ana Popa)

Wednesday, 23-Sep-2015
For those of you that missed out on the London Inline Marathon, or those wishing to have another go at skating on the Olympic Road Circuit, the UK Federation of Inline Speed Skating (FISS) are organising the British Marathon Championships @ Lee Valley VeloPark on Sunday 11th October 2015 (entry closes on Sunday 4th October).

Please see the official FISS page for full details of the day's events as well as how to register:

Tuesday, 11-Aug-2015
After a bit of tinkering behind the scenes, the results have now been published, and can be found here.

- Both the Full and Half Marathon races started a bit further back from the finish line, so there are 27 laps recorded, although the first lap time will account for the first crossing of the finish line from the start.
- There was also a slight delay (approx 30 seconds) of starting the race clock vs the timing system, which will explain a discrepancy between the finish time you may recall from the clock vs the timed results.

If you have any queries, please contact us.

Sunday, 09-Aug-2015
Congratulations to our overall winners from the London Inline Marathon events yesterday:

Men's Full Marathon: Miguel Varona
Women's Full Marathon: Tiffany James
Men's Half Marathon: Rio Carsaco
Women's Half Marathon: Eve McInerney
Men's Inline Endurance Challenge: Alex King
Women's Inline Endurance Challenge: Jennifer Lenz
Men's Quad Endurance Challenge: Ivan Vazquez
-Women's Quad Endurance Challenge: Claire Hunter

The results will be coming soon...

In the meantime, photos are beginning to surface on our team page:

Please feel free to share your photos (and videos) with us!

A big thank you to everyone who came along yesterday - what a great day out!
A special thank you to those behind the scenes and on the front line making it all happen!

Thursday, 27-Nov-2014
LSST held their Annual General Meeting yesterday evening.  Thank you to those that were able to come along.  I hope you'll agree that it was a good evening!

Special thanks
- Club Blue Room, Custom Sport, Torq, Onebody and Powerslide for their generous discounts
- Etienne Bobenreith (Webmaster) and Mike van Erp for their continued support and sponsorship of the club
- LSST Coaching team (Adrian Wordswoth, Mike van Erp, Fred Houinato, Ed Gwiazda, and Gibran Ghazali
- The 2014 Committee (Fred, Chris, Gill, Flemming, Tiak (Will), Flemming, Ed and Gib)
- The members for their continued support

Awards presented
Most Attended - Gibran
Most Improved - Van
Race Performance - Ed (Berlin)
Skater of the Year - Ed

Your newly elected committee (thanks again to those that stood this year)
Roles to be agreed within the committee
- Fred Houinato
- Chris Horn
- Tiak Hee Yeoh (Will)
- Gibran Ghazali
- Ed Gwiazda
- Jon Garner
- Matt Taylor
- Glenn Quadros

Tuesday, 16-Sep-2014
The LSST Committee are happy to announce that we now have an arrangement with Powerslide for club members to purchase any of their products (including Matter wheels and non-skate related items) at a discounted price.

For more details, see the link below (Members' only link):

Monday, 24-Mar-2014
LSST are holding the first track race of the year on Sunday 13th April at Tatem Park.  This will be a series of category (ability based) and age group races.

Registration will be via the FISS website, , and entry should open shortly.

It would be great to see lots of members taking part, whether it's racing, helping out, or supporting our skaters.

To keep up to date with details, click here

Tuesday, 03-Dec-2013
Membership for 2014 is now open, meaning if you are new to the club, you are covered for the rest of 2013 and the whole of 2014.

For more details, click here

Tuesday, 03-Dec-2013
The LSST AGM was held last Wednesday the 27th of November - thanks to those that were able attend - full minutes will be made available in due course.

The members would like to thank this year's committee (Fred, Chris, Anna S, Flemming, Tiak Hee (William), Dan and Sparky), coaches (Adrian, Mike and Fred) for the work they have done.
The club would also like to acknowledge Club Blue Room, Torq, Custom Sport and One Body for their ongoing support.

And a welcome to this year's committee:
- Fred Houinato (Chairman)
- Chris Horn (Treasurer)
- Gill Houinato (Club Secretary)
- Flemming Heino
- Tiak Hee Yeoh
- Gibran Ghazali
- Edmar Gwiazda

The AGM also saw the announcement of the following awards for their members:

Skater of the Year : Edmar Gwiazda
Race Performance of the Year : Floju "Racer" for Le Mans
Most Improved Skater of the Year : Gibran Ghazali
Attendee of the Year : Markus Thierstein

Club Champion Female : Anastasia Wigg
Club Champion Male : Harry Hoare

Honorary Member : Pamela Cranston

Congratulations to all of the above and to everyone in the club.

Sunday, 13-Jan-2013
It is time to turn our attention to the year 2013, if you want to become a new member or renew please click on the Membership tab at the top of the page !

Contact us Sponsored by
Site design by Etienne.B